Loading…
This event has ended. Visit the official site or create your own event on Sched.
Welcome to Litquake, San Francisco’s literary festival, now in our 17th year. Festival dates are October 7-15, 2016. Events are all-ages unless noted otherwise. Book sales are offered when and where appropriate. Events without ticket reservations are first-come first served. Click the phone icon to the right below, to download our new mobile app version!

View analytic
Saturday, October 8 • 11:30am - 12:30pm
OTRS - Jungle of Stone: Discovering the Maya with William Carlsen

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule and see who's attending!

Off the Richter Scale Series:

Pulitzer Prize finalist William Carlsen discusses his recent book Jungle of Stone: The True Story of Two Men, Their Extraordinary Journey, and the Discovery of the Lost Civilization of the Maya. With journalist and documentary filmmaker Mary Jo McConahay (Maya Roads). FREE

Bookish says, "Armchair explorers, history buffs, and anyone who loves a good journey: Don’t miss this book." Ideal for fans of Lost City of Z and In the Kingdom of Ice

Complimentary coffee provided by Nomadic Ground 

Moderators/Hosts
avatar for Mary Jo McConahay

Mary Jo McConahay

Mary Jo McConahay is the author of the award-winning Maya Roads, One Woman’s Journey among the People of the Rainforest. She is an award-winning journalist and documentary filmmaker whose coverage of war, politics and international justice issues has appeared on PBS and in Time, Newsweek, the Los Angeles Times, Vogue, Rolling Stone and dozens of other publications.  She has been honored as the Lowell Thomas Travel Journalist of... Read More →

Participants
avatar for William Carlsen

William Carlsen

William Carlsen was a reporter for two decades at the San Francisco Chronicle, where he was a finalist for the 1999 Pulitzer Prize for explanatory reporting. He has also worked for the New York Times and taught journalism at the University of California, Berkeley. He and his wife lived for many years in Antigua, Guatemala; they currently reside in Sonoma County, California.


Saturday October 8, 2016 11:30am - 12:30pm
Mechanics' Institute Library 57 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94104

Attendees (22)